Summer 2017

It’s been quite the summer.  

June was a very rough month.  My grandpa passed away.  He was very ill and I know his passing gave him relief, but it was a very difficult experience.  For the last 60+ hours of his life I was able to join my family and hopefully give him comfort, remember wonderful times and just be with family.  It was a very bittersweet time.


It was also during that time that I realised just how badly my grandma’s health is as well.  

Mom came home with me after the funeral and we spent a week trying to have fun with the kids and enjoy family.  It was good to focus on happiness! It was also the 100th anniversary of my husband’s squadron.  He and his fellow airmen did a fantastic job honouring the heritage of so many amazing men and women.  It was a pretty rainy beginning to the week as a tropical depression was storming through, but we had a bit of sunshine too.


After mom’s visit we had about a week until our next guests arrived.  It was fantastic to spend the 4th holiday with my in-laws.  We always enjoy their visits!


A couple of weeks after that C’s BFF from England came for a visit :)!!!  It was beautiful to see the girls reunited.  I am so glad that had this summer together ❤️!


Summer is almost over and it’s been full of ups and downs, but as always we look at the positives.  So I will leave y’all with one last positive from this summer.

July was also when I began my job hunt in earnest.  I was able to utilise some fantastic resources for mil families and get some fantastic help and advice.  I had two interviews the third week of July and an offer by the last week – woohoo!!  I start in-processing tomorrow as a case manager.  Which makes tomorrow my first day as a full fledged adult, at 37, lol!  Kids start school on Thursday and then the busyness begins :).  

Leave a Reply

